"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men

At the first glance, the author of the argument seems very convincing in his/her idea conveyed to the readers. The argument makes some assumptions that due to the deleterious effects of the manned space flight, a safer and cheaper alternative of using unmanned space probes is a viable option. Is man the reason behind the risk of safety in the flight? What are the reasons behind the success of an unmanned space probe? To answer these questions, the argument has mentioned a few assumptions either implicitly or explicitly whose flaws will be looked upon.

Firstly, the argument posits that the manned space flight is costly and dangerous. It makes no mention about the reasons behind the cost and risk involved in the manned space flight. Maybe , the high expenditure involved could be attributed to the material used in the making of the flight. Usage of materials which are abundantly found and are as effective of the costly materials used now, these new budget friendly materials could substitute the extravagant materials used presently. Secondly, the argument doesn't provide any statistics or data about the manned space flight accidents. If such evidence is mentioned, it will give a better insight into why it has been termed risky.

In addition to this, the author comes to a conclusion of using unmanned space probes over manned space flight based on the success scenarios witnessed over a few years. Having unmanned space robes means to automate every single space flight existing and this increases the overall expenditure. Also, besides quoting only about the success of the unmanned space probes, the reasons behind the success should be mentioned which will consolidate the author's stand. What if the reasons for the success lie behind the design and the technology used in the unmanned space robes which is missing in the manned space flight? What if the risk behind the manned space flight isn't due to man and is due to the lack of proper equipments and facilities in the manned space flight?

In conclusion, answering the above questions will help us understand which can be a viable option. Drawing a conclusion based on the recent success doesn't imply it is a viable option. The argument, as of now lacks a few evidences and is inherently flawed.