Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take

The author of the claim suggests that governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but can't afford the tuition fees due to some financial constraints. This is credible to a certain extent. One may argue that there might be millions of students who can't afford tuition fees and what if the country's economy can't support the needs of all students. However, education is considered as a basic right entitled to students and depriving the students of their education due to a few financial difficulties isn't right either.

Firstly, the governments should come up with new schemes which is available to students who have a tempestuous financial status. Denying a student his basic educational rights due to his pecuniary status implies inequality. This could mean that such students don't attend college despite the fact they are of a great caliber. Hence, the government could be of help by implementing schemes which offer free education to such students. This will motivate more students from an unstable economic background to pursue higher university education.

Admittedly, if the government offers free education to such students, the universities might go on a protest saying that the college needs the tuition fees for infrastructural development or the facilities available on campus or even the salaries provided to the teachers. Hence, providing education at a free cost might not be a viable option. Instead, the government schemes could include the government paying the tuition fees which eases the burden on the parents and also helps the child to pursue his education at a good university. For example, in India, a non-profitable organisation called 'Akshaya Patre' has been brought into force to provide free education and free food for students in the age group of 6-13. Likewise, employing schemes which could provide scholarships to such students or a different fee structure would be beneficial.

Additionally, in India, the government has come up with a different fee structure for different financial statuses which is an affordable option. This could be implemented too. Thus, in conclusion, a few critics might assert that it is unfair that a few students are receiving free education but depriving a student of his basic rights on the accounts of his financial status is definitely a letdown in the history of humanity.