Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall stu

Omega University came up with a method to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of the professors and since the enforcement of this new procedure, the teachers are assigning higher grades and the student grade averages have risen by 30 percent. The employers don't trust these grades due to which the graduates from Omega University aren't successful in their venture to secure jobs as opposed to the graduates from Alpha University who have a higher chance of getting jobs. At the first glance, the argument seems to have no blemishes and is convincing to the readers but a careful scrutiny reveals a few flaws in the argument.

Admittedly, the evaluation criteria implicitly motivates teachers to give a higher grade to a student. However, the argument should have mentioned whether these evaluations are anonymous or not and if they turn out to be the former case, probably the teacher is being biased towards only those students. This could explain the dramatic rise in the grades of a few students which reflects in the drastic average increase by 30 percent.

Secondly, the students who have been scoring high grades consistently might be losing out on getting a job due to the teacher's partisan behaviour. Probably, when the employers see the dramatic rise in grades, they might not be able to differentiate between the bogus scores of some students and the genuine scores of the other students. Additionally, the argument doesn't mention the reasons why potential employers are selecting more students from Alpha University. If the Alpha University was following the same evaluation procedure for it's teachers, then this evidence would weaken the argument.

Thirdly, the reason for the teachers assigning higher grades in class hasn't been mentioned. Maybe the teachers might have raised their standards of teaching in the fear of the evaluation process. Probably, before the evaluation process, the teachers weren't bothered as to how the students score in their subjects but now, the fear of being evaluated motivates them to perform better. This could mean that since the enforcement of this procedure, students have no difficulties in grasping the concepts taught by the teacher and hence, they are scoring better grades. This could be one of the possible explanations for the drastic change in the grades. If this is the case, then the potential employers are missing out on a lot of smart candidates.

Therefore, the argument lacks a few evidences which would help us assess the argument in a better way. As of now, the argument is inherently flawed and shedding light on the flaws and fixing them would consolidate the argument.