No field of study can advance significantly unless outsiders bring their knowledge and experience to that field of study.

Knowledge is vast, which means determining it's boundaries might sound bizarre. Every field of study is either implicitly or explicitly related to other fields of study. If this interdependence didn't exist, knowledge would have been stagnant with no advancements. When outsiders bring their own knowledge and experiences, this leads to a rapid growth in the corresponding field of study.

Firstly, when an outsider views the same problem, his approach is quite different from the approach chosen by the esteemed pundits in that field. He has his own outlook at the same problem and this might actually lead to a solution. For example, we are familiar with the buzz word 'artificial intelligence'. Is this field solely related to technology? Is this field more inclined to the field of biology? Well, this field emerged as a combination of the two, that is the technology enthusiasts wanted the computer to perform like the brain and the neurologists turned out to be a great pick to help achieve the goal. This demonstrates the fact that outsiders can bring their knowledge and their long experiences and indirectly help in the advancement in a field of study.

Secondly, every field of study should be open to ideas from outsiders because this facilitates a growth in a domain. For instance, no matter how many new physicists look at a problem, their methodologies to solve the same problem might vary a little but they converge. That is, their knowledge is confined to the boundaries of their experience only. Whereas, an outsider might suggest an alternative from his past experiences and contribute better to the field. Elaborating on the example quoted above, the field of cognitive neural networks is the combination of technology and biology. If not for the interdependence between the two fields, we might not have seen drastic progress in the field of neural networks.

Finally, it might seem that asking for opinions from outsiders is a matter of prestige and ego. The erudite class of scholars in a particular field of study might be hesitant to look for such opinions from others. Well, rather than seeing a field reach it's stalemate, it is better to always hear what the outsiders have to say. This could possibly result in advancements in that field of study.

Thus in conclusion, it is very important to incorporate the knowledge and experience of outsiders in any field, leaving one's ego aside because this could mean a huge success which couldn't be accomplished if either of the two functioned alone.