As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

The assertion that as one acquires more knowledge, things tend to become more complex and mysterious as opposed to the expectations of understanding a certain thing, is certainly debatable. Some might argue that things become unintelligible as one acquires more knowledge and seem complex and arcane. On the contrary, others might contend that more information about a topic facilitates a better understanding. I disagree with the claim and believe that there is no direct correspondence between the increase in knowledge and the increase in complexity.

First of all, knowledge has no boundaries and extends beyond one's knowledge. When a child comes across his first experience with a car, he defies the principles of gravity and visualizes a flying car. Unaware of the fact that a car cannot disobey the principles of gravity, educating a child immediately about gravity without the fundamentals of physics would confuse a child. Eventually, once he is abreast of the laws of physics and with the acquisition of this knowledge, the confusing and mysterious concepts of gravity fall into place. Hence, the concept of gravity is more comprehensible by this child. Likewise, when one gains knowledge, things tend to make sense and is easy to understand.

Secondly, when we learn new things, we are able to logically connect the previous things learnt so far. It resembles a chain of events where the knowledge of one topic is crucial to understand another topic. Suppose, a physicist wants to explore more about genetics without having any prior knowledge of the functioning of cells, even the definition of 'gene' could seem unfathomable to understand. Instead, if the same physicist obtains a thorough knowledge of the cells and then advances his studies in genetics, things aren't mysterious or difficult anymore.

In addition to this, one develops a fear to go on a quest for knowledge due to reasons like failure of understanding what a topic means. For instance, research is an astounding example which embodies this scenario. Marie Curie, a chemist was working in her laboratory and she always was on a quest to observe properties of her chemical elements and gain knowledge. This new knowledge helped her to discover the popular radioactive element called Curium. If new knowledge was an obstacle to understanding, many other scientific discoveries would not have been witnessed.

Thus, in conclusion, one gets a clearer picture in one's mind when they gain knowledge. More knowledge doesn't imply complexity and indeed, helps in a better understanding of the same topic.