As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

Knowledge is facts, information, and skills acquired by a person through experience or education; knowledge is the theoretical or practical understanding of a subject. Hence, to claim that acquiring more knowledge do not make things more comprehensible rather it makes things more complex and mysterious, as the statement above does, is a false dichotomy. In what fallows such a fallacy will be proven with the discussion.

To begin with, acquiring knowledge is the same thing as the understanding of a phenomena. The whole educational system is based on acquiring knowledge to understand things so the students become qualified enough to make a career and play a role in the society. Consider a woman doctor for instance. Having finished the education, she is certificated. Patients trust the academic system giving her the consent to diagnose. It is the knowledge of the doctor giving us confidence to comply with her advice while we have taken for granted that she understands our disease. Otherwise we would go to another doctor that has more knowledge, more understanding of our disease. Hence knowledge and understanding is the same.

Now, to answer where the complexity is coming from, we should see that the universe was always complex from the beginning, but we were only able to see a fraction of the world. As Einstein said once, like an insect which is running along a long curved line and it do not know that it is curved. With acquiring knowledge we can see how much of the world has been unknown to us and not to be lulled into the complacency that our understanding covers the universe. The most obvious example of complexity was when we started to realize that we are only able to see a tiny fraction of the universe. All we can see is only 10 percent. Dark matter and dark energy are the dominant parts of the world which only we know that they exist. We do not have yet any clue to capture and understand them.

The silver-lining in finding such complexity is that it makes room for us to extend our wisdom. Otherwise we would still mired in the pseudoscience, hallucinations we assumed as the reality, and superstitions. The complex world, dares human to further their intellectual and practical endeavors and use their minds more systematically to solve the mysteries of the universe.

In short, as we acquire knowledge we can better understand the world. The complexity is an ever existing feature of the world, and it challenges the human mind not to fall into the complacency. Without acquiring knowledge, there would be only a hallucination of understanding, not the firm understanding.