As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

From the early stages of our emergence on this planet, knowledge has been served human as tool to get solutions and tackle the challenges of life. The author contends that as we use more advanced knowledge, issues and concepts get more complicated. I mostly agree with the author, believing that as the human civilization goes forward and exploits more knowledge, things tend to be more convoluted.

To begin, knowledge has wonderfully done its part to contribute to simple problems and issues. Therefore, today's functionality of knowledge is not about tackling rudimentary concerns, instead, it focuses on solving more complicated things. Take mathematics as an example; about a thousand years ago, pioneer mathematicians were about to discover algebraic rules which were astonishing back then, nevertheless, seems very primitive these days. Nowadays mathematicians are working on multidimensional geometry, advanced calculus, etc. As we can see in this example, due to the unquenchable thirst of humankind for knowing more and harnessing more nature's power, knowledge leads us to more complicated issues as time goes by. Therefore, there is no wonder why the cutting-edge knowledge in an era is much more involved than those in preceding times.

Furthermore, regardless of going through more complicated concepts in each field, knowledge has solved much of the problems in certain fields, leaving them behind to concentrate on more difficult majors. In this way, as time passes, people try to focus on more intricate fields of study, making the knowledge acquirement procedure more complicated. As an instance, in the past people were mostly concern about affairs like agriculture upon which their lives were contingent. But nowadays, most of the people are learning about computers and softwares which are on a whole another level considering the complexity. Hence, it is obvious why knowledge is about more complex issues these days; it already has obviated the necessity of working in simpler fields.

In sum, I mostly agree with the author's issue. As we get more knowledgeable, things tend to get harder to apprehend. Although there may be some criticisms about this claim. In fact, in many fields of study, knowledge has shed light on some formerly intractable problems and has made thinking more simple and more clear. Our progress in hygiene and medical affairs are of this kind. As we more know about microbes and viruses, it gets easier to justify the cause of the disease. Although, as I mentioned in my writing, I mostly agree with the idea of more knowledge leads to more complicated things; basically because simpler issues and matter get handled sooner, leaving the thirst of knowledge to go for more complex ones.