On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the

Balmer Island seems like a popular hotspot for summer holidays. This is irrefutable because the argument claims that the number of mopeds shoots up drastically during the summer months. The argument, which is filled with loopholes makes many suggestions to reduce the annual accidents.

First of all, the concerned authorities of the Balmer Island would have to produce the statistics of the accidents. One of the claims made in the argument is the reduction in the number of mopeds from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. Suppose, this is implemented, this provides so certainty that the accidents see a decrease in the number.

Secondly, there is a mention of the increase of mopeds. Furthermore, there is no statistical data or accidental records which shows a linear correlation between using of mopeds in summer and the accidental records. Also, how will reducing the mopeds reduce the accidents? Probably, the few people, who are riding the mopeds are the rash drivers and will still lead to the same number of accidents. Reducing the mopeds on the roads is not a solution but rather a preposterous solution. It could be termed as a stopgap for a problem.

Thirdly, the argument hasn't made a mention either explicitly or implicitly about the driver's license criteria before renting a moped. What if the rental companies are renting out mopeds to anyone without any legal check of their licenses? This can be considered as a huge reason for the accidents. What if the mopeds are driven by reckless tourists who have been charged or have been punished for accidents in their countries?

Regarding Seaville, the law passed by the town council might have turned out to be effective. This doesn't guarantee the same in Balmer Island. To conclude that the same policy will work, a few questions need to be answered. Are the populations of Seaville and Balmer Island close to comparable ? Do the compatriots of Seaville strictly adhere to the stringent rules imposed by the town council? If so, will the same policy be applicable to Balmer Island. The two places might have a lot of differences which come into play. For instance, the roads in Balmer Island might be more narrower when compared to the roads in Seaville, which might be the main reasons accidents are more prone in Balmer Island.

Finally, the flaws found in the argument need to be obviated before the town council can view the policy implemented in Seaville as impeccable in Balmer Island.