The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books."We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because

As stated above in the argument, Monarch books have been in the business of books for more than twenty years. The myriad customer base is imputed to the wide variety of books available at Monarch books. The Board of Directors have a suggestion that opening a cafe would definitely attract more customers. This recommendation doesn't have any strong evidence to support it. For instance, the customers at Monarch books are not big fans of a cafe at a book store. Instead, they probably prefer quite places for their reading environment. The customers, who prefer the books available at the store need not be food lovers. Hence, opening a cafe could probably be a disastrous idea with more expenditure involved and less outcome.

Also, the suggestion for the venue of the cafe is the children's book section, given the recent national census that there is a decline in the population under the age of ten. It is a completely bizarre idea to discontinue the children's book section because of the decrease in the population nationwide. Probably, the number of children in and around Monarch books are still constant. That is, the nationwide decline in population doesn't implicitly or explicitly decide that the number of children who love reading books or are frequent customers of Monarch books are going to deteriorate. Discontinuing the children's book section is a extreme thing to say. Indeed, what if most of the customer base constitutes of children ? Answering this question is a determining factor whether the venue for the cafe is ideal or not.

Regarding the competition mentioned in the argument, the Regal Books, the customers might have different likings compared to the customers of the Monarch Books. Regal Books consists of a cafe but there is no mention of the fact that people visit the store because of the cafe. Maybe, the customers prefer the ambience or the locality in which it is situated compared to the cafe. Has the recent opening of the cafe been a useful aid to see a steady increase in the customer base of the customers? What if the answer to this question is a no? This would imply that the Monarch Books shouldn't open a cafe just to be on par with the methods used by it's competitors.