College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

A famous quote goes like this : ' You can give a man a fish and feed him for a day but if you teach a man how to fish, he is fed for his life' . Likewise, the importance of education in any student's life is of paramount importance. Academics nurtures students to have skills which are useful when he steps into the professional world. Choosing a field of study must depend solely on a person's interest rather than the availability of jobs in that field of study.

Firstly, the situation today is way different than the situation which existed decades ago. Today, we live in a world where everyone is always running to be first in the field they choose to be in, which implies we live in a competitive world. When a college student doesn't have a passion for the field and chooses it only based on the job market, it might have some bad repercussions. For example, 'artificial intelligence' has been a buzz word lately. If a student takes up this course only because of his narrow outlook on the jobs available and not passion, he might not succeed. This could be attributed to lack of passion and being a mediocre student in a competitive field might leave a student unemployed despite the growing job-market in that field.

Secondly, to set aside passion and to focus only on the employment opportunities might leave a person unemployed. What if the same person is more inclined to literature and can focus on writing his own blogs and later progress by writing a few newspaper articles and earn a better salary rather than slogging in the field of technology which he took up solely on the reason of an assured job? It is said that when we live, we shouldn't just exist. Instead, we must pursue our passions and be satisfied with our jobs rather than suffering in a field where one doesn't seem interested.

Thirdly, there are a plethora of reasons due to which students forget passion and concentrate on job-oriented professions. A few reasons are family pressure and stature in the society. It might seem more convincing to choose a field where there are plenty job opportunities because this gives a more stable financial status, that is one is able to support his/her family financially. Maybe job openings for a person interested in liberal arts might be few but a person can be complacent with his career even if he is earning a little lesser than the average. Even if one steps into a field which is abundant in job opportunities, if he doesn't have the right skills or passion, his salary might stoop lower than what if he had earned by taking a job pertaining to liberal arts.

Thus in conclusion, it is completely bizarre to follow the flock of sheep based on the job market and not on passion. The jobs might provide a short term happiness in terms of salary offered but as competition builds, more passionate people will replace the ones with no passion ultimately leading to unemployment. Hence, one should choose his majors based on what interests him and not based on how many jobs will be available.