Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position

A nation always strives to develop in economic, social and cultural aspects and to enforce the same, a myriad number of laws have been passed. Does the nation's growth rest on these factors only? A nation's environmental wealth is of paramount importance too. To elaborate on the term environmental wealth, it includes forests, national parks and sanctuaries which are the habitats for the wild animals.

Firstly, passing laws in to preserve any reamining wilderness areas in their natural state is superior to the idea of gaining economic benefits by destroying these wilderness areas. Forests and national parks are home to millions of diverse species, enriching the wildlife of a nation. Encroaching in these natural habitats directly leads to putting these wild animals at a risk of extinction. For example, the Dodo, a bird is completely extinct due to hunting and poaching of their habitats. Also, tigers are on a verge of extinction and probably, in a few years, they will become an extinct species too. Hence, passing laws is important to preserve these habitats which implicitly helps the endangered species.

Secondly, if the habitats are protexted, this can save the species in those habitats. For instance, how would man feel if someone steps into his house and takes away everything needed for his survival ? Likewise, animals are being deprived of their own environment due to man's greedy needs to gain profit by dominating over wilderness areas.

Thirdly, commercialization has a huge role in being one of the reasons for destruction of forest areas. The nation must pass stringent laws and must enforce regulations where people who illegally construct buildings or make commerical use of the forest areas will be punished. Once such laws will be passed, there is a possibility that the goal to preserve a country's environmental wealth is can be achieved.

Finally, people might say that the forest land could be a good use for the economic development of a country and the fauna residing in these areas can be shifted to a zoo. This is not a viable option because the natural behavior of the animals is altered due to the caged environment they live in. Living in an enclosed area will definitely make the animals lose their natural instincts like hunting. Hence, no matter how beneficial a wilderness area can seem from the view of profits, preservation in the natural state is of primary importance.

Thus in conclusion, the government should pass laws and regulations which requires adheration to not violating these wilderness areas and once this is achieved, a nation is said to be rich in wildlife and it's environmental wealth increases.