Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

With the increase in population, man is appropriating the forest at an alarming rate. Huge wilderness areas are cleared and destroyed for the purpose of - construction, procuring natural resources and agriculture. Is there a requirement of stringent law to be passed by every nation to preserve remaining forests? The answer to this question hinges on the status of a nation's economy. For a country with an unstable and poor economy, it is not advisable, but for a developed nation with well to do economy, laws should be passed to stop the destruction of wilderness areas.

Firstly, let us take the case of poor nations. In such countries, laws restricting access to resources for economic gain can have a detrimental effect on the economy. The primary goal of the nation is to look after its citizens, so in this case, the forest area should be used for boosting the economy by utilizing the natural resources and clearing the lands for agriculture.

Secondly, for developed nations, strict laws should be passed for the protection of the forest. We are already witnessing the effects of global warming and the destruction of forests acts as a catalyst in preponing a catastrophic event. Because in absence of such laws, greedy businesses will eradicate forests without hesitation even though it can be for small economic gain. We fail to understand the work done by the forest to clear the air and in maintaining water cycles. It would take trillions of dollars to develop a similar machine with purifies air and that it just one of the many roles played by forests. The benefits of preserving the forest outweigh that of the small economic gains caused by their eradication.

Furthermore, it is possible to preserve and get economic benefits from the forests at the same time. Tourism provides a great solution where the country can benefit from keeping the forest in pristine condition and earn from the tourists who can come to appreciate the nature.

To sum up, we cannot propose a golden rule that applies to everyone, hence countries will well to do economy should pass stringent laws to protect the most priceless resource - wilderness areas. But for countries with no so well to do economies, they should use the forest to improve the condition of a country and alleviate the living conditions of its citizens.