Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

An effective leader is the one who stands firmly on their principles and objectives.

Firstly, it is natural for humans to respect those who stand firm in thier objectives and decisions; it is a sign of reliability. People can relate to ones with a steady belief. A person with wavering principles shows signs of uncertinity and lack of vision, hence is not suitable to be a leader. Therefore, in order to be an effective leader, whether it be in the field of politics, one has to remain consistently commited to his beliefs and objectives, even if it means dissenting a popular opinion.

Secondly, as a saying goes - "hundred people will ask for hundred different things". This shows the variation of desires in humans, therby it is implausable to please everyone. A leader - should be seen as a final authority in deciding the vision and also what is the right path to reach that goal. For instance, Steve Jobs is considered a good leader. His vision was firm and he was not afraid to say "no". He rightfully said - "People do not know what they want, unless utill we show them what they desire". And as we know today, Apple is the biggest tech companies in this world and this is beacuse of the Steve jobs did not abandon his principles for the sake of compromise. This shows that people might diagree with you first, but with the realse of results, opinions of people will change.

On the contrary, it is true that initially public will see you as a good leader when you yeild to their opinion, but, with time the people will see you as a survile politician. The most difficult part of being a leader is the ability to dissent from the popular opinion and finding the right vision and setting corerct objects to reach the goal. People follow those who have a clear vision and not the ones with fickle mind.

To sum up, the most essential quality of a leader is to remain consistently commited to a particular belief, on the other hand if one tries to yeild to the public opinion, he would risk coming off as a brown noser and an unsuitable leader.