Government officials

In the era of democracy, the government officials, mostly elected by the people, face a dilemma when it comes to taking decisions. While it is true that democracy means "by the people and for the people", which implies implicitly that all the decisions should be based on the wills of people the officials severe. But serving them creates a series of other problems which can put their job at stake, and in the long run lose faith amongst the very people they sought to serve. Therefore, government officials should base their decisions on their own judgement rather than stooping down and pleasing the public.

Firstly, everyone can agree that job of an government is difficult. The requirement to choose between difficult options and in the process, gaining hostility from the people, is the reason that makes the job so difficult. Saying that the officials should take decisions based on their own judgement, does not automatically imply that they should not pay heed to the demands of people. Instead, they should listen to everyone but the final decisions should be inaccordance to their own instinct.

Secondly, sometimes public is not educated enough and therby cannot fathom the bigger picture involving politics and economics. Therfore, it is true that most of the time, majority is unware of what it wants and how it can be achieved. Hence, it is the job of the elected govenment officials to discern the needs of the citizens and find ways to fulfill the demands. Public looks at the results more closely then the paths which lead to them. Hence, if the officials focus on their judments and reach the desied goals, the citizens will forget about the methods and praise the official for the outcome.

Furthermore, as it know that it is impossible the demands of everyone, therefore a official trying to accomodate each and every wish is deemed to fail. Even more worse, the official can be seen as fickle minded and detoriate his/her chances to get elected in the next election. Public would see a wavering person as weak and unfit to make decisions, rather than lording. Hence, the government officials should base their decision on their own intuition rather.

To sum up, listening to everyone makes it harder to satify everyone, and in the process of making someone happy the officials are prone to make other dissattisfied. Therefore, officials should consider everyones demands but the final decision should be based on their own intuition.