Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The advantages of preserving wilderness outweighs that of extricate the same area for small and short term economic gain, therefore nations should pass laws to protect wilderness areas in their pristine condition.

Firstly, we fail to recognize that forests act at air purifiers and it will cost us trillions of dollars if we try to replace them with machines of equivalent throughput. The short term economic gain would be minute as compared to the long term disastrous effects in the absence of wilderness area. Already we have cleared more than three fourths of the forest around the Nile area and at this rate it is predicted that we would clear out majority of the forest area in next decade. Therefore is it critical that something should be done to protect the remaining wilderness area. Strict government laws to preserve remaining wilderness area would aid in stopping the otherwise inevitable catastrophe.

Furthermore, economic gains can coexist with preservation of wilderness. National reserves, where people can take safari to appreciate nature can help educate the tourists and at the same time generate revenue. This revenue can be used to create awareness and protect the wilderness areas. It is important to understand that in the absence of strict policy, shrewd businesses will take advantage and cause irreversible harm to any remaining forest. Therefore a strict law should be passed by nations as soon as possible because with each passing second there is a destruction of one more forest.

To sum up, the advantages of preserving forests outweigh the small profits from the destruction and development in that area. Hence, nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining forests in their pristine condition.