Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In todays world there is an influx of ideas - both bad and good. To filter great idea from the rest we need an idea which is based on proofs that strengthen it validity. Therefore, it is true that a strong idea should be capable of convincing the dissenting group of its validity.

Firsly, science has come a long way where just presenting your hypothesis is not enough. A thesis should be following by set of empherical proofs that validate the idea. This is equivalent to saying that - a person positing an idea is forced to denfend his thesis against the contrasting views of other by the process presenting the proofs. In this way, the idea gains its validity and strength.

Secondly, in the process of denfending an idea, the person gains more insights into the idea. This helps in bolstering the hypothesis or transforming it. Either way, the resultant hypothesis gets stronger. Thus, the disagreemnt and the contrasting view help in strengthing the argument by the process of finding logical proofs that confirm the truth of the proposed idea.

On the otherhand, it is not always possible to defend an idea if the majority is reluctant to drop their belief or bias, even for a brief period. But this does not mean that the idea is necessarily bad. For instance, Galelio proposed that earth is not the centre of the universe and at that time no one was ready to accept his idea. But with time and advancements in tools, we were able to validate his idea. Again, many people even today believe that the earth is flat and the spherical image of our plant is computer generated; even though we have proofs that suggest otherwise. So the naivety or the reluctance of people to not accept an idea does not show that the idea is not valuble.

To sum up, the worth of an idea is based on the capacity with which it can defend itself. Strong ideas are based on proofs. The constant disagreement with the idea helps in filtering great ideas. A small idea can be turned into a big idea if it is able to withstand the contrasting views.