Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which the claim is based.

I strongly agree that the best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint. Obviously, it is not the only parameter on which the validity of the argument can be judged. Having a sound background knowledge, its feasibility and the impact of the argument plays an equally important role in determining its credibility. However, putting your views in front of someone with a completely opposing viewpoint and to convince him that it's you who has a more cogent argument almost sums up everything mentioned before. The reason stated that by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of an idea is also completely valid.

The reason given speaks for itself. When we discuss our views with someone else, we get to see a whole new perspective of the topic that we might have completely missed. Since all human beings are unique, someone could think about a topic in such a different way that you would never think of. However, that is all the more reason that if you can prove your points to be more sound than his and can answer every question or doubts he puts up, proves that it's your argument that has the upper hand. While you are trying to convince the person in front to accept your way of thinking, your argument’s validity is also being cross-checked. If your arguments are based on void claims and misleading information which you might think is correct, you would easily be rebuked by the person and he would refuse to believe in your agenda. The reason that discussion between contrasting parties leads to the conclusion as to whose viewpoints are the most cogent is the basic reason why we have debates in parliament. In a democracy where everyone has the right to put his/her views, legislators debate and then vote on every law that is passed to ensure that only the laws that have sufficient sound reasoning behind them get passed.

When preparing arguments from ourselves we sometimes tend to forget to consider all the points related to it and with our half assessed information get confident on our claims. As such, hearing a different viewpoint helps us to debunk such claims. For example, let's suppose you consider that electric cars are the future. Your main argument could be that since electric cars produce no emissions and in the United States 50 per cent of emissions from the non-industrial category are from cars and bikes alone, electric cars would be a boon and would lead to a healthier climate. Being confident, you discuss this with John who believes electric cars are impractical. To your surprise, John tells you that in the industrial sector, producing electricity amounts to 28 per cent of the total emissions and that is when we are only supplying to households. If all cars become electric, the added load would only increase this number, hence cancelling out the good effect you were counting on. Again, you could provide further arguments and this will go on. In any case, both of you would get valuable insights into each other’s viewpoints and finally reach a common conclusion.

However, this way of testing doesn’t apply every time. It also depends on the quality of people you are having this discussion with. Discussing your views with someone having little to no knowledge to support his claims would do nothing to prove the credibility of your argument. Also if the listener is an extreme egotist, you just won’t be able to convince him no matter how good your arguments are. It is like the saying goes, it's easy to wake up someone who is sleeping but impossible to wake up someone who has already woken up.

Persuading someone with an opposing viewpoint to give up their way of thinking and to follow your viewpoint is really a very strong indicator of the credibility of your ideas and hence its safe to say that it is the best test of an argument. Even while you are asserting your views, you come to learn the different implications and ways it can be inferred which you can further add to your arguments to make them even more cogent. But as we discussed, it does not work in all conditions and depends on person to person. Hence, it is an excellent measure to gauge your argument as long as you are doing so in front of a humble, listening and informed audience.