The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

"Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit.Instead, as shown by this year's unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when economy does."

Write a response in which you examine the stated/unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument rebukes the claim made my medical experts who cite that too much time using computers has caused a decline in the physical fitness of the people of Corpora. The argument takes in account some interesting assumptions to provide strength to it’s claim. However these assumptions suffer from some serious fallacies which the argument doesn’t account for.

First of all the claim made by the medical experts itself looks skeptical. They conclude that since only one-quarter of Corpora’s citizens pass the current standards of physical fitness and twenty years ago, one-half of the Corpora’s citizens passed the standards in their time, hence the number of people who can be called physically fit have declined. In making this conclusion they have taken a extraneous assumption, and that is they have considered the total population for the last twenty years to be relatively the same. In their study, they have provided no information whatsoever regarding the change in this sample. If really the population has remained almost the same, then there conclusion does hold true. However, it is very much likely that the population wouldn’t have remained constant and, in fact, could have increased or decreased. If the population would have increased, then the one quarter of that population could very well be more than the one half of the population twenty years ago. This would mean that there are actually more people who are physically fit today than there were twenty years ago. Furthermore, the experts consider the standards as “then defined”. Again they assume that the fitness standards have remained the same, which again could be wrong. There could be a significant difference as to what fitness was defined twenty years ago and what it is defined now. Such fallacies result in the weakening of the argument made by the medical experts.

Building upon this implication, the argument tries to show a direct relationship between the fitness levels and computer ownership. The assumption here is that each and every person who buys a computer is actually using it for himself and it still doesn’t affect his physical fitness. However, how reliable is this assumption?It is possible that kids comprise of a large percentage of those regions and the computers were actually being used by them for playing games or doing some other stuff. There could also be some big IT companies in the area who would have brought the computer in large quantities for their workforce and hence contributed to the large computer ownership. Moreover, fitness levels depend on a variety of factors such as nourishment, genetics, general lifestyle etc. There are just too many variables to consider and the argument doesn’t pay heed to any of such factors.

Additionally, the argument is blaming the slow economy for the drop in fitness level. It assumes that due to the rising cost of fitness related products, people are actually unable to afford them and hence are losing there fitness. But there could be other reasons too for this fall in expenditure. It could be possible that instead of the economy, the people themselves are not motivated enough to buy such products and services, hence accounting for the fall in expenditure. Moreover, even without such products and services a person can easily maintain his/her fitness by simply practicing some simple exercises such as running, doing crouches etc. On similar grounds, it is not necessary that as the economy improves the fitness will improve. In fact, if people start enjoying more lavish lifestyles due to the booming economy, it could actually result in lower fitness levels due to their lifestyles.

The argument provides an interesting take regarding the causality between people’s fitness and computer ownership, economy etc. These arguments, however are not well supported and suffer from various blind spots. There are many angles and variables to consider which the argument doesn’t ponder on. The lack of credibility of the conclusion by medical experts, showing computers don’t affect fitness and lacking a solid explanation as to how economy and fitness are related all contribute to the weakening of the argument’s claims.