The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

"Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year's unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the arguer claims that the decline in fitness is not caused by the increase of time spent on using computers but the decline in the economy perhaps, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does. To substantiate this conclusion, the author points out several fact. However, this argument is fraught with vague, oversimplified and unwarranted assumption.

The major questionable assumption in this argument is that the computer ownership in regions of Corpora has a certain relationship with the time people spend using it. Unfortunately, there is no evidence to support the idea that the higher levels of computer ownership in the regions are, the more time people there utilizing on computers. If it turns out that the reason why computers are more prevalent in that region is that people here own higher income than other regions, then the higher levels of computer ownership will fail to substantiate the conjecture that people consume more time on computers. Thus, this can not prove the conclusion that spending too much time using computer is not able to explain the decline in physical fitness.

Secondly, the author assumes too hastily that low expenditure on fitness-related products and services suggests that people do less physical fitness. Perhaps that people there just do not enjoy the sports which may cost a lot, preferring to do simple exercise such as running in the neighborhood and swimming in the sea near their home. In this case, keeping adequate physical fitness is not related to the economy situation closely. the recent decline in the economy will not influence the citizen’s physical fitness a lot.

Lastly, the author relies on the unsubstantiated assumption that as soon as the economy rebound, people would like to allocate more money on physical fitness. It might well happen that people here just do not pay so much attention to physical fitness, so that they are willing to spend money on eating or travelling instead of doing sports. It is not uncommon to see that in some country whose economic situation gets better, individuals here would like to increase daily expenditure on nutritious diet or taking vacation. Furthermore, even though people spend more on fitness, it is possible that they just buy some facilities to catch the trend instead of using them frequently. Either of the scenarios, if true, would render the author’s conclusion unfounded.

To sum up, this arguer fails to substantiate his claim mentioned in this passage, because there are several unreliable assumptions in his analysis. To convince us, he need to provide more convincing evidence.