"Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year's unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author’s argument that an improvement in economy levels will consequently improve the fitness levels is not entirely logically cogent, because it is not strong enough requiring more information and weighting.

The fact that one-half of all Corpora’s citizens met the standards of physical fitness compared with one-quarter twenty years later can not effectively endorse author’s argument that has been a decline in fitness because it is not stated details of these standards and it may has changed over twenty years. Moreover, it is not stated the size sample of these percentages, in other words, we do not know how many citizens met these standards along the years. The population surely grown and this variation in percentages may not express a significant decline in physical fitness.

The author suggests that the experts are inaccurate when they state that the increase in time using computers can lead to a decrease in fitness. The author argument that fitness levels are highest in regions where computer ownership are also highest, consequently the author conclude that using computers does not decrease citizens fitness. Nevertheless, there is not a strong connection between these facts because ownership does not imply usage of computer. For instance, a lot of people may have a computer or several but even so not spend a lot of time using it.

The author implies that the recent unexpected low expenditure on services and fitness products were induced by the decline in the economy, however, this may not be true and can not effectively endorsed because the low expenditures may be result from an elevation in prices of fitness products and services. For example, people reduce the consumption of these products if they are expensive, but they may purchase it in travels.

Although the decline in the economy and the decrease in fitness may be related, the author’s arguments are not completely sound since supporting sentences are not strong and well related enough.