Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole.

It is known that youngsters play an ineffable role in our society because they have an active voice in different fields and great commitment with their beliefs. I completely disagree with the statement that nowadays young persons have no influence on the important decisions that affect society. I feel this way for the reasons I will present in the next paragraphs.

Firstly, Young people are able to vote in most of countries around the world. I believe that voting is a powerful way to make a difference and change the course of our society locally and nationally. If youngsters understand the power of vote, they can do this more consciously and the positive impacts of this decision will be enhanced.

Secondly, besides voting young people are able to be voted. When we have youngsters as politicians or in other leadership positions it means that they can actively participate of decision taking and not only influence them. Furthermore, they can use their proactive skills when they are in these leadership positions.

Finally, youngsters have the excellent ability to express their beliefs and defend them passionately. They can express their opinions and beliefs through pacific demonstrations in order to try to change some previous decision made. For example, in my university student's demonstrations were able to change a new policy previously stablished, because it was negatively impacting student’s routine. On the other hand, if students had not claimed for changes it could have not occurred.

To sum up, I strongly oppose the idea that young people have no influence on decision taking in our society. This is because they are proactive, able to express their beliefs and convince others, besides they are able to vote and to be voted which is the worldwide main process through which leaders and people can impact the future of society.