TOEFL essay The twentieth century saw great change In your opinion what is one change that should e remembered about the twentieth century Use specific reasons and details to explain your choice

It is known that twentieth century was a period of ineffable changes in social, economic, political and technological aspects. It was a nefarious period of world wars but, despite this fact, it was also a period of great enhancements such as the advent of television, airplanes, optic fiber and space travel. Although all these were great advances, I believe that one that should be specially remembered is the advent of Internet. I feel this way for the following reasons.

Firstly, Internet was created during the period of cold war and was initially used for the purpose of facilitating communication and spreading of military information. At that time the main mean of communication was telephone and computers were big machines used basically to store information. Over time, Internet was developed and its use advance for individual, educational and commercial purposes, as opposed to governmental purposes as previous. In other words, connectivity turned available for all.

Secondly, development of new technologies, especially in communication field, is possible due to the advent of internet. In the era of letters or even telephones, we should wait time to be informed and communicate effectively, however, it has changed with the internet advent.

Hence, it has impacted the way we live and relate with others. As consequence of the enhancements in communication and internet we can observe the advent of smartphones, that I believe to be the great advent of twenty-one century.

Finally, Internet led to the development of social medias that are great tool of communication, information and commerce used today. Some people can use this tool only to stay in fashion, on the other hand, it can be used in a profitable way. This is a great approach that companies are using to exchange information at real time and to stay connected with consumers. It is a great way to impact public and another rentable way to make advertisings.

To sum up, I strongly support that Internet development should be remembered as a great advance of twentieth century because it is impossible to imagine our lives without it nowadays.