TOEFL essay:The twentieth century saw great change. In your opinion, what is one change that should e remembered about the twentieth century? Use specific reasons and details to explain your choice.

It is known that twentieth century was a period of ineffable changes in social, economic, political and technological aspects. It was a period of world wars and ,despite of this, it was also a period of great enhancements due to changes such advent of television, airplanes, optic fiber and spacial travels. Although all these were great advances, I believe that one that should be specially remembered is the advent of Internet. I feel this way for the following reasons.

Firstly, Internet was created during the period of cold war and was initially used for the purpose of facilitate communication and spread of military information. At that time the main mean of communication was telephone and computers were big machines used basically to store information. Over time, however, Internet was developed and its use advance for individual, educational and commercial purposes, not only governamental as previous. In other words, connectivity turned available for all.

Secondly, development of new technologies is possible due to the advent of internet. Furthermore, it has impacted the way we live and relate with others. As consequence of the enhancements in communication and internet we can observe the advent of smartphones, that I believe to be the great advent of twenty-one century.

Finally, Internet lead to the development of social medias that are great tool of communication, information and commerce used today. This is a great approach that companies are using to exchange information at real time and to stay connected with consumers. It is a great way to impact public and another rentable way to make advertisings.

To sum up, I strongly support that Internet development should be remembered as a great advance of twentieth century because it is impossible to imagine our lives without it nowadays.