As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is known that technology has been improved since the twentieth century and plays a crucial role in our daily lives. The advent of the Internet, automobiles and computers are some examples of how technological improvements constantly facilitate our routine. As a result, we utilize them for our convenience. However, this efficiency will not abate human’s capacity of being creative and solving problems, in other words, critical thinking. The statement asserts that the reliance on technology will abate human’s critical thinking. I disagree with the given statement for the reasons I will explore in the following paragraphs.

All technological advances and devices are made, maintained and improved by humans. Therefore, how these improvements could impair human’s ability to think by themselves? A wide range of skills and reasoning is necessary to create and develop new technology. Moreover, even more reasoning is necessary to solve new problems and challenges created by technological advances. Nowadays computers facilitate our lives in ineffable ways but at past times it was just a huge machine used to store information. Over time, the wide access to computers led to an urgent necessity to link them through a global network, that is how the Internet came about. I t was necessary high level of study and research to develop it. Now we cannot imagine our lives without the ubiquitous access to the Internet. Therefore, solutions to new challenges that appear as a result of technological advances, require innovative measures and high critical thinking.

Furthermore, technology, including the Internet, is widely available and provides comprehensive and prompt access to information that, otherwise, was not. Exchanging information at real time and staying connected with each other enhance our thinking and communication skills. There is no distance to the Internet, the possibility to communicate with people around the world can generate, disseminate and share knowledge, which improves our reasoning and ability to think, link and make connections of broad conceptual ideas.

Although some devices, for example calculators, may diminish our ability to think and reason quickly, it is just because we are used to. These devices will not impair our ability to think, they just make us to feel comfortable and secure using them. Therefore, I do not consider it as having relevant impact in our thinking ability because it helps to solve trivial mathematical problems.

Thus, it gives us additional time to engage more efficiently in tasks that demand complex thinking and reasoning.