"Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistake

While it may be true that the people of Corpora had cut down on the purchase of fitness-related products in response to a declining economy, the magazine article does not provide a cogent case for how a deteriorating economy could engender decline in fitness level. The conclusion is made based on very feeble grounds. Three stated and unstated assumptions need to be examined to further analyze what implications are for the argument if these assumptions prove unwarranted.

To begin with, the author concludes the declining physical fitness of Corpora based on a comparison between the “proportion” of people between two different eras. Maybe the population of people who did physical exercise always remained the same despite the fluctuations in the economy. It is possible that the decrease in proportion was the result of a massive influx from immigrants. If it were true, the author’s case would be weakened.

The author also assumes a direct correlation between computer owners and their fitness level. The more computer owners may be demographically clustered around major cities where fitness facilities are more possible. The author also maintains the conclusion simply because the fitness number was highest. Highest doesn’t mean the best. It may be simply the best among the worse. The argument will be weakened if the above argument were true.

Although, if it is assumed that the author was true to conclude the computers did not call forth declining health among the citizens, the author simply concludes that economic decline was responsible for the declining fitness levels. The author simply discards other possibilities. Maybe, there were fewer fresh vegetables available and people were forced to eat a lot of fast food. Maybe, there are not sufficient facilities for cycling or swimming which may be responsible for increased obesity. This is the major flaw in the argument and the author will need to provide evidence on why other factors were discarded.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands is flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted conclusion. If the author can buttress these assumptions based on more concrete evidence, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the cause the declining health.