In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author’s argument that the Mason City’s government should increase the funding to riverside recreational facilities based on an assumption of river use increase is not entirely logically compelling, because it is not strong enough requiring more information and weighting.

The arguments that the use of Mason River for water sports will surely increase based simply on what is suggested by the author about the survey can not effectively endorse this argument. It is unknown if the survey, that rank water sport among the favorite recreational activities of residents, was made in reliable circumstances and aspects. For example, if the survey was made only with a small sample of residents or if the type of questions not include other enjoyable activities leading the preference for water sports just for lack of other options.

The author implies that the complaints from residents about the river’s smell and water are related with the lack of use of the river for swimming, boating and fishing, not related with recreational facilities conditions of use. A concrete connection between the complaints and the lack of river use was not made. It is not explained how many residents complained and if they really did a formal complaint in the responsible department. If only ten residents has been complained for the last ten years, it would be almost irrelevant and due to punctual problems that probably have already been solved. Furthermore, the author suggests that the river cleanup will result in an increase of the river usage. Nevertheless, the smell of the river can be related with natural results from mineral deposits, surrounding rocks or decomposition of aquatic vegetation.

Consequently, if the assumptions proved unwarranted a lot of money will be invest in the recreational facilities without increase the riverside usage. Maintaining the nature and public spaces preserved is an obligation of the governments, however, the author’s arguments are not completely sound to persuade the Manson’s government to invest more in recreational facilities. Since the supporting sentences are not strong and well related enough.