Every Individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting you position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

The development of laws is fundamental to moral order and human rights maintenance. It is known that since ancient times laws are made to be complied and who do not comply them are acting illegally. Usually, laws are created by individuals we choose to perform this fundamental and crucial task. Although, I disagree to some extent with the given statement that citizens have a responsibility to obey just laws and disobey unjust laws, there is one most compelling reason that could challenge my position.

In democracy, laws are created by local and national politicians that are elected by people through vote. Therefore, it is of ineffable importance to choose and vote in politicians we trust that will be able to create just laws. It is necessary to examine their political parties values and their personal values and beliefs to make a reasonable choice.

It is a citizen duty to observe the law and a transgression do not comply it. The consequence for this felony could be charge or even a prison sentence. Hence, in some instances we have to abide by the law even we do not totally agree with it. For example, during the covid-19 pandemic I do not agree with some abusive restrictive laws created in my state that I considered unjust, such as curfew or medical elective procedures cancellation. However, I do not disobey any of that because I do not want to be an outlaw.

I believe that if we do not agree with some law that we think to be unjust the solution is to recur to who made it and try to change it. Committed people, especially the youngsters, could arrange pacific demonstrations or protests to show their dissatisfaction with this decision-making during political assemblies. Furthermore, with the advent of the Internet we can use social medias to support or reprove political actions, for example, arranging and organizing political demonstrations and constraining politician to perform appropriate changes in law we need through online signed petition.

However, the most compelling reason that could led me to not obey a law would be if a dictatorial government seize power in my country and citizien’s religious and expression liberty are disrespected. Thus, I would never obey a law that obligate me to negate my faith in God or forced me to do things that are against my beliefs, such as to kill, to rob and other crimes.