It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ jobs.

It is a prevalent phenomenon that a growing number of parents prefer their kids to choose the jobs similar to them. Though kids can acquire more experience from their parents in this way, I sill contend that it is better for children to choose their jobs that are different from their parents' job rather than those similar.

To begin with, the jobs parents chose may not be promising enough for their kids. As is known to us, with the rapid development of our society, everything is changing at a speed which is faster than ever, including the jobs. Probably some popular jobs would be obsolete after a few years. For instance, during the 80th last century, in China, toll collector working in highway toll booth were once considered as an ideal job so that many parents working there try their best to get a position there for their children. However, as the popularization of computers and other intelligent devices, the toll station do not need so many labour any more, which contributes to a high unemployment rate of the collectors. Thus, considering these incredibly enormous changes happen every day, parents' jobs can be discarded by society in the future, which may have negative influence on the career plan of the kids if they choose jobs similar to their parents.

Secondly, there are no leaves exactly the same, as an old saying goes, which means even if they are parents and children, they do not share the same dream and taste. It is inevitable to see that children fails to perform as well as their parents do in their jobs, lacking in interest and passion, both of which play significant roles in one's career. Generally, owing to the nature of children, they tend to do something different from what their parents do to seek excitement from this kind of adventure. Perhaps, choosing these jobs could either allow kids to acquire self-satisfaction and sense of achievement.

Granted, if kids take jobs similar to their parents', they can obtain valuable working experience directly from their parents, extremely meaningful and helpful to their career development. Nevertheless, we can not ignore the update of knowledge and skills in these fields. It might well happen that when kids enter the workplace, they would find their parents experience is not pragmatic any more. In addition, as far as I am concerned, it is not something terrible for kids to earn experience from their own growth during working, though sometimes the process can be frustrated and challenging.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that it could be better if children choose different jobs from their parents, rather than semblable jobs.