Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should be required to step down after five years.

The speaker asserts that in any field, those in power should be required to step down after five years. This policy has considerable merits with respect to most areas including democracy and the development of the constitutions but it could be better if the cycle of the change depends on the properties and the requirements of the field, with relevant laws and regulations guarantee the fairness and transparency.

To begin with, if this policy can be fully implemented, the democracy can be promised. Every several years, the US general election will be held, during which individuals can vote for their favorite leaders. For common people, this offers them a chance to participate in making decisions about the future of their homeland by deciding their state leader. For the leaders, this policy pushes them to work harder, devoting all their energy to building a bright future to their country if they want reappointment. In such situations, people’s voice can be heard and their appeals will get replies. In contrast to the ancient China, empire, the supreme ruler, was a tenure, which means no matter how terrible he did, people had no legible way to get him step down, which restrained to the speed of country development. The flaws of this was exposed, especially in the past 100 years. Thus, the general election in the political field really help people to express their views and join the state decision better.

Secondly, the change of the leadership is beneficial to the organizations, especially in such a constantly changing age, to adapt to the new environment. Nowadays, with the development of the society, every field is improving at high speed. In such a situation, companies need innovation to survive in the fierce competence. Take the research and development department for instance. As the executive of this department, leaders need continuous creative ideas. Obviously, one leader group may offer less creative ideas during the long-term work owing to the fixed thinking pattern. However, new leaders suffer less from the problem of lacking in new idea since they are less restrained by the experience and thinking outside the box can be easy. This contributes to a better adaptation to the changing environment for the company. If the department do not change the leader at regular intervals, those in power may find themselves have less motivation to innovate, finally the company failing behind others.

Granted, the cycle of leadership transition should not be limited in every five years, owing to the differences among different fields. In some realms, one policy or regulation need to take decades to reveal their results. Changing the leadership too frequently may make barriers to the policy implementation, undermining the stability of the working environment. In addition, because of the short term of office, a handful of leaders would like to seek quick success and instant benefits to make, at least seemingly great achievement. This may do harm to the normal development of the field. Therefore, though transition gives promise to fairness and democracy, it still need relevant laws and regulations to help this policy can be effective and flexible enough under different circumstances.

To sum up, that leaders should be required to step down after five years is reasonable, promising democracy and vitality, if more flexible.