Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents today are more involved in their children’s education than were parents in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, there is a heated discussion on the problem whether parents today are more involved in their children's education than were parents in the past or not. Although parents are more knowledgeable than were those parents in the past, I still contend that in fact, parents are less involved in their kids' education.

To begin with, parents today have less free time to spend with their children. As the competence in the work field is becoming more and more fierce, they have to devote all their energy and time to their job, in order to get promoted and earn a better salary to provide their family with life of higher quality. In such situation, it is difficult for these occupied parents to squeeze time to accompany their children, let alone to take an active part in their education. Meanwhile, it is a prevalent belief in parents' mind that only by working hard and earning more, they can achieve the goal of offering their kids better education. Compared the present situation of parents, parents in the past seem to have more time to spend with their kids, owing to the less fierce competition and slow pace of life, which means they could distribute more time and energy to the kids' education. Therefore, parents at present do not participate in their kids' education so much as the parents in the past did.

Secondly, with the rapid development of society, parents nowadays always find themselves difficult to catch the update of the knowledge on their kids' textbooks, leading to the situation that parents, lacking in the ability to tutor their own kids, ask for professional teachers and tutors to help with their kids' homework. This contributes a phenomenon that it is uncommon to see that, at least in China, some kids do not take part in an extracurricular class after school. Parents are not unwilling to involve in their kids' education but fail to do it. In this case, parents do not play a crucial role in the children's education today.

Granted, parents are involved less in the education of their kids, which never means that they pay less attention to their kids than those parents in the past. On the contrary, it is an era when parents care about their kids' education more than past decades. A great number of researches show that family investment on education having increased about 10% than the last century. They still attach great importance to the education, just suffering from lack of time and ability to involve in their kids' education.

In conclusion, parents today are less involved in their children's education than were parents in the past.