Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

In this argument, the arguer recommends that the Grove College preserve its centry-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. In support of this recommendation, the arguer provides several pieces of evidence. However, a careful examination of tha argument would reveal how groudless this conclusion is.

Firstly, to convince us readers, the author has to point out the evidence that the number of students in the sample is enough to represent the opinion of students in the whole school. If the students responding to a survey are only a small part of students, it might well happen that most of these students are just those who support all-female education in Grove College. Thus, the result from this survey is not reliable. In addition, the ratio of alumnae answering the separate survey to all alumnae is unknown as well. Perhaps that same problem exists in this survey as well.

Secondly, even if the result of survey is reliable, one evidence that needs to be strengthened is that keeping the college all female will truly improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep the college financially. Since we have no idea about the morale among students now and how all-female education influence the morale, perhaps that keeping the college all female has no obvious influence on the girls, which means they change nothing because of keeping the tradition, those working hard still endeavoring to get better academic performance while those indulging themselves in entertainment still having no interest in learning. In that case, this behavior of keeping all-female education seems to help less in inspire morale. Also, it is perfectly possible that the half of the alumnae, who are in favor of coeducation, will feel less motivated to support the college financially. Therefore, this recommendation could bring nothing beneficial to this college.

Last but not least, without offering that faculty members will not change their attitude to serve this college if the all-female education continues, the author fails to substantiate the recommendation made by president and administrative staff of Grove College. As the majority part of the faculty members approve the coeducation, if their ideas failed to be considered, then this may negatively influence their enthusiastic for devoting themselves to school. This possibility further weakens the arguer’s opinion.

To sum up, the author’s recommendation is critically weakened by these possibilities. He still needs to provide more convincing evidence to convince us.