Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The following appeared in a memorandum from administrative head of the international students' activities at Rydell College

"To better attend to the needs of the international students being admitted to Rydell College, we should build a new dining hall that serves food to students at subsidized rates. The current dining hall is very old and serves only expensive items and dishes, something that will certainly prevent future international students from applying to Rydell College. Building a new dining hall will avert this possibility and will definitely lead to a dramatic increase in a popularity of Rydell College. Moreover, a new dining hall will help Rydell College to justify an increased budget for educational improvement this year. Building a new dining hall will therefore be a great step towards enhancing the ranking of Rydell College."

The administrative head of the international students activites has drawn a optimistic conclusion on the baes of faulty and incomplete evidences that building a dining hall will increase the rank and admits in Rydell College.

The head states that 'to better attend to the needs of the international students', there has been no mention of any survey that was conducted with facilitates that the student want a new dining hall. The absence of statistical data about how many internation students come to Rydell College every year is also missing. If the number of internation students is less then a new dinning hall might be of no use. The absence of survey and number of votes to build a new hall, it can be said that it is a faulty argument.

The claim that the current dining hall serves only expensive items and dishes which internation students can not afford might be not completely right. It is very true that international students are on a tight budget but the might have other reasons not to opt for dining food. The reasons could be that the have a specific dietary requrirement which the dining facility can not fulfill or the food which they prefer based on their regional and cultural upbringing is not available in dining facilities and they prefer the cook by themself. Hence certain edivence are required to conclude that it is the price factor which is keeping students away from dining.

A new dining hall will add to the popularity of the college, such claims are very vague and unjustified. In no way can a dining hall add to a institutes popularity, a institute can increase its popularity only through opportunities it provides to their students. And to show a increase in budget for educational improvement, the college can invest in a much better place like libraries, classroom, better faculties than dinig.

In genral, it may be said that the head has failed to make a convincing argument because of complete abscence of statistical data and no convincing reason being provided. The argument ends with an entirely unjustified optimistic conclusion based on wishy-washy obserations that are likely to be in correct.