Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The following is a letter that recently appeared in the Oak City Gazette, a local newspaper.

"The primary function of the Committee for a Better Oak City is to advise the city government on how to make the best use of the city's limited budget. However, at some of our recent meetings we failed to make important decisions because of the foolish objections raised by committee members who are not even residents of Oak City. People who work in Oak City but who live elsewhere cannot fully understand the business and politics of the city. After all, only Oak City residents pay city taxes, and therefore only residents understand how that money could best be used to improve the city. We recommend, then, that the Committee for a Better Oak City vote to restrict its membership to city residents only. We predict that, without the interference of non-residents, the committee will be able to make Oak City a better place in which to live and work."

In this argument, the arguer asserts that the Committee for a Better Oak City should restrict its membership to city residents so that the Committee would be able to make Oak City a better place in which to live and work. In support of this recommendation, the arguer points out several pieces of evidence. However, a careful examination of the argument would reveal how groundless the conclusion is.

Firstly, we are not informed whether people working in Oak City but living elsewhere do not understand how to use the money to improve the city. Chances are that Oak City is a place where most individuals come from other places to work owing to a higher payment. Though those people do not dwell here, they may play important roles in financial or political department of the government or the local large companies. In this case, they exactly know the financial condition of the city and the political implementation, which means they are able to come up with valuable and plausible suggestions aiming at resolving the difficulty the city is faced with. If the Committee prevent them from voting for the important decision about the city development, it is possible for it to bring negative influence on Oak City, let alone city improvement. Without ruling out such a possibility, the author cannot convince us that the conclusion is cogent.

Secondly, without answering the question if Oak City dwellers who pay city taxes understand how money could be best used to improve the city. To some degree, it might well happen that these taxpayers pay taxes only out of responsibility, less understanding the money management of a city. Thus, paying taxes might be the only way for them to make contributions on city development. Therefore, the Committee really need expert participation to make wiser decisions. As they have more fundamental knowledge and practical experience, they probably offer professional advice of more values that the common taxpayers. Without taking into consideration such possibilities,the author fails to substantiate his claim that only residents understand the method of using the city’s limited budget.

Last but not least, even though the objection from some committee members but not dwellers made barriers to passing the decision, one question that needs to be answered that if there are some other reasons for the failure of the decision. Expelling those opponents from the committee can reduce the disagreement and lower the resistance against making some important decisions, however this fails to promise the improvement of Oak City, if there are other reasons still exist, such as the objection from local residents and the limitation from the nature condition. As a result, this scenario, if true, the author fails to substantiate his assertion.

To sum up, this arguer fails to convince us that if the Committee for a Better Oak City restrict its membership to city residents, the Committee would be able to make Oak City a better place in which to live and work, without answering the questions above.