Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.

Reason: College students—like people in general—prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions.

There is an assertion that colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for student, as a result of the phenomenon that college students prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions. From my perspective, though this phenomenon as a reason is quite true, the claim above is not quite reasonable. Here is my further explanation:

Nowadays, college and university students indeed prefer following directions from others to making their own decisions because of lacking in experience and confidence. As is known to us, before students were enrolled by universities or colleges, most of them just followed their parents’ and teachers’ guidance, devoting themselves to academic learning to get a chance to enter college. During adolescence time, they were required to take pointed classes by government, using same textbooks and learning from teachers arranged by school. Besides, even what they wore and ate in some places are uniform, with no choices. Obviously, when these students enter the colleges, they have developed a habit of execute the orders, and owing to lacking of chances to make their own decisions, they are unwilling and not confident enough to jump from the comfort zone.

However, what college education means to these students is not just learning knowledge and obedience, but learning how to make decision for their own life is of higher significance. For college students, it is high time to take actions to find the orientation of their life. In order to determine the direction, they need to find our what occupation is his or interest in and what courses should they choose to realize their career dream. If there is no elective classes, the opportunity for them to learn more professional knowledge in their field would be cut down. In this case, it might well happen that students can not learn enough specific knowledge related to the research field fascinating them a lot. As for the required class specified by college, perhaps that this might cause a waste of students valuable time, which should have been fully utilized on the courses more important to their professional field. This may deteriorate students’ enthusiastic for academic learning, probably having negative influence on their academic performance to some degree.

Granted, clear guidance is highly necessary for the students to make their own decisions in college, especially for the freshmen. Nevertheless, restraining their choices of courses is not wise, if the negative effects mentioned above have been taken into account. Definitely, there are some other effective ways to realize the goal of offering guidance to college students. Take our school for instance: At the beginning of each semester, tutors will organize experience exchanging meeting where we can ask senior students and instructors questions about the basic information of the courses and consult them some problems puzzling us about our career plan. This conference is not only to help us build relationship between junior and senior students, but provide guidance as well. As a result, imposing restriction on the courses choices is not the only choice for university and college to guide their students.

In conclusion, the reason that following directions is a preference for college students rather than making their own decisions win my approval, but I can not completely subscribe to the claim that universities and colleges provide students with guidance by specifying all required classes and eliminating the elective classes.