Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a citizen of Carlton County.

"It has been noted over the past two years that the incidence of vandalism has steadily increased in Carlton County. At the same time, it has been noted that there is a dramatic increase in out-of-state migrants who have moved to Carlton County over the past few years. Many citizens of the county believe that these migrants are responsible for the observed increase in vandalism. We therefore recommend that the county government should take strict measures to reduce the number of out-of-state migrants in order to prevent further destruction of public property and restore civic order in Carlton County."

The letter from a citizen of Carlton County written to the editor, appeals to the government to take action to reduce the number of out-of-state migrants to safeguard their county. However, the citizen's claims are bound to answer certain questions that if answered, will allow all the people involved in this matter to take a more judicious decision regarding this issue.

Firstly, where has the increase in the crimes against vandalism been found in the county? It could be that all these acts were centered to a particular municipal that enraged a small group of people living in the county. This would point fingers directly to the protestors or individuals against such municipals which need not be the migrants and their families.

Secondly, is there any proof that the crimes were commited by the migrants? The entire argument of this particular citizen of Carlton County is dependent on the people's belief that the migrants are responsible. As long as there is no hard proof, it would be foolhardy and bold to blame the crime on the innocent migrants.

Finally, the editor, the county government and the citizen should question the previous steps taken to reduce such crimes. Have there been any steps taken to tackle this issue? What was the outcome of these steps? Can there be any changes to the fee a culprit has to pay? In no case, can restricting the people from moving into the county be the only solution to solve the issue.

All in all, the entire argument is not based on physical facts and details, but rather on beliefs of people, whose intentions can be negative towards the migrants. It is the duty of the all the people involved in this issue to critically analyse the situation, find answers to the questions raised above, and draw appropriate conclusions.