The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Lifestyle in 2020 is believed to be very different from the lifestyle of the people in the 1950s and 1960s. It is seen that now majority of the population have access to products and services of luxury and convenience. However, I don't think that the number of 'strong' and 'independent' people has dwindled. Additionally, even if it has reduced, I don't think a luxurious lifestyle should be blamed for it. My position can be justified for the following reason.

It would be wrong to perceive that the few people in olden times, who had access to items of luxury, were not independent. There are many people in history, who were rich and were known for their wit and had an upstanding reputation for their independent thinking. One of these is Cleopatra, the Queen of Egypt. She belonged to one of the most opulent civilizations in her period, and was known for her decisiveness in matters relating to the court. She was also known for her indulgences in items of luxury. This belief of judging the abilities of an individual from their lifestyle can be very misleading and in many cases, depict a very narrow perspective towards weighing one's successes.

In modern times, as life has become more convenient, people have become more independent. The use of cars and other personal vehicles allows more people to travel on their own, without the need to rely on others or public services. People are able to utilize time efficiently and in their own way. The use of computers and mobiles, which are still considered to be a luxury in many countries, allows its users to learn something new, manage a business and reach the masses. Considering these examples, I can suggest that life in modern times is more independent than ever.

Many might aver that this use of modern technology is still some form of dependence on commodities. However, man has always been discovering and inventing new things to make their life more convenient. Man created fire, and now we cannot imagine eating raw meat for the rest of our lives. These items, that we call items of convenience, empower their users and allow them to achieve something new. These can be considered as tools to improve our state of living, our skills or, our state of mind. Even access to new forms of entertainment helps to reduce stress and is good for mental health. Chances are, that the average life expectancy rate of humans has increased over the years because of using these tools of convenience.

All in all, the lifestyle of the people has improved greatly over the last century and can be attributed to inventions that made life more convenient for us. Devoiding a person of these facilities under the pretext of making them 'mentally strong' or 'independent' can actually make life far more difficult for them, and can adversely affect their mental and physical health.