CLAIM: The importance of multidisciplinary education is overrated in today’s times.

REASON: Education should be focused on preparation for a specific career path and thus students should be encouraged to only pursue a single area of study.

Children and students are a highly impressionable group of people, and are also the future of the society. They will bring in innovative ideas which will transform the society. Such ideas require a wider perspective on how the world works and the ability to analyse it, which needs to be cultivated from a very young age. Keeping this in mind, I mostly disagree with the claim that multidisciplinary education in today's times is overrated. I believe that restricting a student to select a career path very early in life fetters their imagination and ability to learn.

In today's times, many modern industries and organizations are working together to develop services that can help a wider group of people. Technology today is bringing together engineering, arts and life sciences. Some famous examples are companies like Google, SpaceEx, Boeing airlines, and many more that need people with a wide array of information about various fields. This knowledge about different fields boosts their company's intellectual asset and shines light on a brighter future. The 21st century has enhanced the need for people to be all rounders and limting them to a fixed curriculum or area of study will inhibit their talent.

Secondly, selecting a career at a very early age with very little experience can be risky. Many people show interests in different fields at different times in their lives. Life is all about learning and the human brain yearns for knowledge. In such a situation, forcing a person to select a carreer path can lead to more failures than successes. For instance, Leonardo Da Vinci, is not only known as a famous painter, but also as an architect, a mathematician, an astronomer and an inventor. His life and the lives of many such people cannot be defined by one area of study and occupation. He is the prime example of how the human brain is capable of more than we might assume.

Finally, students are too young to understand how to select the 'right' path for their future. On the basis of what are they supposed to choose their carreer? Sometimes certain jobs appear to have a lot of potential in the future, but the market is unpredictable and cannot be the basis of selecting a stable job. Some students are better at standardized tests, but might not be very good in the real world, as academic intelligence and intelligence needed in the work place is very different.

All in all, choosing a strict carreer path for highly potential minds is a very risky decision, and many a times, wastes the intellectual capacity of a student. There is far more potential for a student with multidisciplinary knowledge in the real world, and hence institutions should work on building and enhancing skills of the students by teaching them about the same.