Claim : The importance of multidisciplinary education is overrated in today's times.

Reason : Education should be focused on preparation for a specific career path and thus students should be encouraged to only pursue a single area of study.

Education plays a crucial role in determining the course of every individual's life. It can pave the way for success and help us reach our intended goals. It must be noted that every individual has a unique set of skills and likings. It is therefore essential for any education system to allow a student to identify these skillsets and pursue a career accordingly. I personally feel that labelling multidisciplinary education as "overrated" is wrong because it gives an individual a chance to identify his liking and inclination and enables him to choose how he wishes to make a living.

The reason states that focus in a single field will help students in their chosen field of study. While that may be true, it does not warrant calling multidisciplinary education overrated. The essence of education is vital for a person for all his life. Educating someone not only means giving him knowledge about his area of interest but also about morals, ethics and values. Educating someone about rights and wrongs is as crucial as the area of interest.

The advantages of studying a single subject are many. You get a head start in your field, a great career arc and the possibility of living independently. The main question is when do you start learning only one subject?

The Indian Education System generally spends the first year of any form of higher studies to teach the basics of all major disciplines. For example, a student enrolled in the course of mechanical engineering has to learn the basics of computer coding, electronics, civil engineering and communications technology. And then depending on the course, the student spends the next two or three years learning the concepts of his chosen course.

People argue that young people are naive and the must be taught the basics of all subjects before they start specializing. They ask the question what if the students change their mind? I think that is a ridiculous argument. If you want to change your discipline, provisions are in place. Many people transition from working in one field to another after working in that field for twenty years. I ask why are we spending the crucialU years of a student's life in teaching him something he may not ever use in his life.

Calling multidisciplinary education overrated is harsh. A student needs to have basic knowledge of other disciplines. But the student is going to earn his bread in his preferred field of study. I partially agree with the claim and its reason but there needs to be a balance between multidisciplinary education and specialization.