One year ago, Glengood Health Center in Turnville decided to start a health awareness program for its community. Since that time, Glenwood's share of patients in the Turnville area has significantly increased. Further, a nationwide survey indicates that many people in the country are greatly interested in such awareness programs. Citing these facts, the director of Carson Health Center in Poway has recommended that Carson should also start health awareness programs of its own to attract more patients from its community.

The argument states that to increase the number of patients in Carson Health Centre, it should start health awareness programs. The argument at first glance seems plausible, however on scrupulous analysis, it is found to be rife with holes and assumptions. A valid stand can be taken on this argument only after the evidence required to evaluate the argument is thoroughly analyzed.

The author claims that since starting the health awareness programs, the number of patients have increased in Glengood Health Centre. The question that needs to be answered is whether the awareness programs are the only reason for the increase in patients? It is entirely possible that the area of Turnville has the outbreak of a disease which leads to the increased number of patients in Glengood. What is the actual number of patients going to Glengood as compared to one year ago? There is a possibility that there have been only 5 more patients than there were one year ago.

Furthermore, we need to answer the question whether people in Turnville are visiting the Glengood Health Centre for their ailments or for the awareness programs. If the number of people visiting the centre for awareness programs is greater, then the reasoning seems dubious. Without numerical evidence, this fallacy cannot be resolved.

Moreover, the author also states that the nationwide survey indicates that many people in the country are greatly interested in such awareness programs. What is the credibility of the survey? What is the sample size of the survey? If the survey is taken by people doing it for a hobby, it may not be an accurate representation of what the people want. Without the sample size of the survey, we can successfully determine if the survey would be applicable to Carson. If there are no people surveyed in Poway, the survey would not be applicable in Poway. There is a possibility that residents of Poway are not interest in health awareness programs at all.

The argument consists of weak ideas, mixed issues and equivocal claims due to the flaws mentioned above in the line of reasoning. There is a possibility that Carson Health Centre can attract more patients because of the health awareness programs, but the reasoning given is rife with flaws and inaccuracies. Therefore, it is extremely important to find the evidences that support the claims of the author. And only after finding the evidences, the following topic can be strengthened.