The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument states that the best way to improve profits in all stores is to discontinue stocking many of the varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses. The argument at first glance seems plausible, however on scrupulous analysis, it is found to be rife with holes and assumptions. assumptions. A valid stand can be taken on this argument only after the evidence required to evaluate the argument is thoroughly analyzed.

The argument states that the five best-selling cheeses in the newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. The sales pattern of one store is being applied to all the stores of the company to conclude that people like domestic cheddar cheeses. The possibility that the imported cheeses might not be sold in the Wisconsin store is not being taken into account. There is no information given pertaining to the number of customers going to the Wisconsin store and the average number of customers going to any store of the company. It is possible that the people of Wisconsin prefer domestic cheddar cheese over any other type of cheeses. Therefore, it is unclear whether domestic cheeses are the favorite over the whole of America.

The author states that the Cheeses of the World magazine has carried out a survey which displays an increase preference for domestic cheeses among its readers. However, this statement has an ambiguous wording. In fact, to be able to thoughtfully evaluate the increase we need to know the initial percent of the subscribers who like domestic cheeses. If it is a small number, the increase cannot significantly impact on the popularity of the cheese. Moreover, even if a majority of subscribers prefer domestic cheeses over imported ones, we have no evidence that these subscribers are customers of the store chain. In other words, the opinion of Cheeses of the World magazine may not be relevant to preferences of purchasers of the chain and thus author’s usage of the data is equivocal.

Furthermore, the author claims that majority of the profit is coming from domestic cheeses. There is no relevant data provided pertaining to the costing and sales of foreign and domestic cheeses. It is impossible to conclude that limiting inventory of imported cheeses will indeed save the company money. It is probable that the imported cheeses generate a high profit even if the sales are low.

The argument consists of weak ideas, mixed issues and equivocal claims due to the flaws mentioned above in the line of reasoning. There is a possibility that the company can reduce expenses if the import of foreign cheeses, but the reasoning given is rife with flaws and inaccuracies. Therefore, it is extremely important to find the evidences that support the claims of the author. And only after finding the evidences, the following topic can be strengthened.