Recently Honey Bun replaced the use of sugar with aspartame, a sugar substitute, throughout its bakeries in the Northeast regions of the United States. Contrary to initial expectations, this change did not negatively impact our customer's preference. So far, only 5 percent of our customers have complained about this change, suggesting that an average of 95 customers out of 100 have no problems with the use of aspartame in our bakery products. It is therefore clear that since our customers have not expressed great concern about the use of aspartame instead of sugar, we should extend this change to all the branches of Honey Bun bakeries in the rest of the country.

The argument states as there have been a small number of complaints regarding the change from sugar to aspartame, the change should be extended to all branches of the bakery across the United States. The argument at first glance seems plausible, however on scrupulous analysis, it is found to be rife with holes and assumptions. assumptions. A valid stand can be taken on this argument only after the evidence required to evaluate the argument is thoroughly analyzed.

The author claims that the change from sugar to aspartame did not negatively impact the preferences of their customers. It is possible that Honey Bun specializes in bread products and the actual number of products which use sugar is quite low. This means that number of products which are using aspartame are low which leads to the preferences remaining unchanged. Also the claim is made without giving any data to back it up. It is quite possible that the customers preference has shifted from sugar-based products to non-sugar-based products. If the revenues are similar, this is not a negative impact for the company.

The author claims that only 5 percent people complained. It is possible that aspartame is quite popular in the northeast regions of the United States and people prefer aspartame over sugar in their day-to-day life. It is also possible that the number of consumers of Honey Bun are quite low in the northeast regions as compared to Honey Bun bakeries in other regions of the United States. If there are only a hundred customers in the Northeast regions as compared to a hundred thousand customers in the other regions, the number of complaints may give a positive outlook of a possibly grim situation.

The author concludes that as customers have not expressed great concern, the change should be extended to all Honey Bun bakeries. There is a possibility that people are not aware that a change is made. People might assume there has been a change in recipe of the products hence resulting to change in taste. It is also possible that people do not know the difference between aspartame and sugar.

The argument consists of weak ideas, mixed issues and equivocal claims due to the flaws mentioned above in the line of reasoning. There is a possibility that the change will result to a small number of complaints and most people will be fine with it, but the reasoning given is rife with flaws and inaccuracies. Therefore, it is extremely important to find the evidences that support the claims of the author. And only after finding the evidences, the following topic can be strengthened.