"Over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and, since West Fredonia is the home of several endangered animal species, in the environmental disaster. But such disasters can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper unless the company abandons its mining plans."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument stated that the Crust Copper Company (CCC) have already purchased lands in tropical areas for the use of exhaling copper, and this will result in environmental disaster that corrupts the living environment for endangered animal species, and the author suggests that this can be prevented by stop using the products with their copper to let them stop mining from those regions. The argument at first glance seems plausible, however on scrupulous analysis, it is found to be rife with holes and assumptions. assumptions. A valid stand can be taken on this argument only after the evidence required to evaluate the argument is thoroughly analyzed.

The arguments states that mining done by the Crust Copper Company will for sure lead to the extinction of endangered species in West Fredonia and ultimately leading to environmental destruction. However, there has been tremendous progress in environmental technology and mining technology. These technologies can help mitigate the damage caused by mining. The use of eco-friendly processes to extract minerals can be used and possible damage from contaminants can be assuaged. Therefore, it is not clear whether the mining will cause tremendous environmental damage and further research is required to ascertain the facts.

Moreover, the author claims that the life of many endangered species will be in danger of extinction. There is no data given regarding the geographical location of these species and the land owned by the mining corporation. If the species are concentrated in a small area, then the mining will not have any deletrious effects on the animal population. Also, the total area of West Fredonia is unknown. The area bought by the CCC can be peanuts compared to the area of the nation. Hence, more information regarding the country and geographical locations of the endangered species an mining corporation is required to form an accurate opinion.

Additionally, the author claims that if consumers simply refuse to buy CCC products, the company will be forced to abandon its plans to contruct a copper plant. Copper is used in a multitude of things ranging from mobiles phones to cooking utensils and from satellites to jewellery. If the CCC is indeed one of the major copper manufacturers, it will be impossible to not buy their products without sacrificing some of the amenities we enjoy. It might also be possible that the copper requirements in West Fredonia are low but the exports are high. A loss in mining revenue might be disastrous for the nation as a whole. Moreover, if the CCC abandons its plans, there is no restriction stoppping other companies to mine.

The argument consists of weak ideas, mixed issues and equivocal claims due to the flaws mentioned above in the line of reasoning. There is a possibility that the company may abandon its plans if the use of their copper is stopped, but the reasoning given is rife with flaws and inaccuracies. Therefore, it is extremely important to find the evidences that support the claims of the author. And only after finding the evidences, the following topic

can be strengthened.