"Over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and, since West Fredonia is the home of several endangered animal species, in the environmental disaster. But such disasters can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper unless the company abandons its mining plans."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The statement is flawed at the very beginning. Without citing any news resources, the speaker assumes that, because the Crust Copper Company's majot business is copper mining, the reason that they purchase the island is to exploit the place's mining resources. As mentioned, West Fredonia, is not only home to precious coppers, but is also featured for its natural beauty. There is possibility that the company is seeking to expand their business lines, and West Fredonia appears as the idea place for their new business plan.

Admittedly, the advancement of human society is often accompanied by the exploitation of natural resources and habitats. However, in the case of CCC, the speaker fails substantiate that the action will necessarily result in pollution and reduction of domestic species. The several endangered species could only live around a small corner on the island, and the mining activities have little influence to their daily live, compared with their natural predators. Even if there is an overlap between the species’ habitats and the mining area, the speaker does not provide any information about whether the company is taking actions to minimize the potential negative influence. Maybe the international society poses strict laws on oversea mining activities. To abide to the regulations, so to avoid the huge amount of penalties, the Crust Copper Company may have to abide to all the guidance, which include consulting local governors and getting approval before taking any actions, hiring local experts as consultants, reporting to the international society periodically, and so forth. Such rules have a strong constraining power on any illegal attempts.

The last point in the statement is neither possible nor feasible. Just as fossil fuels and gases, copper is one of the essential natural resources that humans are still heavily relying upon. The products made by copper that is produced by the Crust Copper Company could have permeated people’s life without their awareness. Even if they are voluntary, it is not feasible that they abandon all those products. For example, One small chip inside their phone could have used the copper mined by the CCC, is it unreasonable to ask people to stop using their phone. Switching to a new one might be tricky as well, because the majority of other phones could also be using the CCC copper, because their copper and products represent the highest quality in the market.

Alternatively, I suggest that, people have an open attitude towards the exploration of new natural resources. Mining does not necessarily equal to pollution. With appropriate regulations, the potential harm can be controlled and minimized.