The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it might be true that the increasing time devoted to national news and the decreasing time to weather and local news are contributory factors in people's complaints, the argument is not sound. To evaluate and to conclude the real reasons behind the loss of audience and the decreasing revenues, the author has to dig deeper into the problem and provide sufficient and unbiased evidence.

The paramount problem in the author's argument is that, though it is the fact that there are more complaints than the television station ever has, he mentions no detail about these complaints, which means he fails to take into consideration questions like the following. First, to what percentage does the complaint increase? It is possible that there is only a small number of increase in the complaints. Further, whom did these complaints come from? This is critical because people who are extremely dissatisfied with anything against his desire would complain a lot, so probably these complaints came from the same person. If evidence shows this, then whether these complaints could reflect the urgent need for the television station to change their program is worth doubting, and whether these complaints deserve noticing is also worth considering. Second, the author never considers that whether the complaints are about the poor quality of their program instead of the length of it. It could be that the weather report or the national news is never accurate, so it is the same watching it or not. The argument will remain unwarranted until evidence show that people complain just out of the length of the Late Night News.

The author also mentions that the increasing devote to weather and national news is the reason why local business canceled the business contract with them. However, things could be that these business companies are facing an unprecedentedly severe financial crisis due to the gloomy economy. If the author turns his eyes to other enterprises, he might find that they have also canceled their contract with their former partners, and the reason is simple: In a digital age, the television station is no more the best way to attract consumers. Instead, advertising on Internet websites like Google or Facebook is most efficient. Considering the economic condition they are facing and the thriving of new media, it is reasonable that these business companies change their advertising strategy. The author should do a comprehensive research concerning the attitude of these companies, and if the results indicate what is mentioned above, then even if the television company restores the program to its former level, it does no help to gain benefits.

In general, the author's recommendation is not entirely fantasy; however, he fails to analyze the complaints the station received, and thus fails to truly understand what lies behind these complaints. Besides, he knows little about local economic conditions, which render his argument an unwarranted assumption. Unless he could offer more unbiased and credible evidence, the television station should not put his advice into implementation.