“Over the past year, our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of local and weather news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news programs have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it sounds reasonable to restore the weather and local news to its original level, the arguer's argument is actually based on some flawed assumptions which cannot be substantiated by the existing evidence. Also, he tries to justify his conclusion by establishing a link between the complaints and the cancellation of some business contracts, but the reasoning of his argument is not sound.

Though it is true that the television station has received many complaints concerning the coverage of weather and local news, the author mentions no additional information and details about it. It is highly possible that some viewers are not complaining about the increased time on weather and local news, but their poor quality. The author has to investigate further into that feedback and find out that if there are other possible explanations. For example, people could be complaining about the inaccuracy of weather prediction, or they are not satisfied with watching reports like a local farmer has grown a huge pumpkin, but in terms of the local gun shooting event, they would like to be informed of the lasted investigating process and know as much as possible. Considering circumstances like this, the author must provide solid evidence showing that what people do dissatisfied with is the time devoted to weather and local news, if he wants to persuade his colleagues. Further, he must prove that these complaints do not come from a single person or a few groups. The television should only take action if it proved that the programs are not the majority want.

Another huge fallacy in the author's argument is that he wrongly establishes a link between the complaints and the cancellation of the business contracts. It is possible that local businesses are facing a financial crisis, and considering the long-term development, they have decided to cut the budget allocated to advertising at this moment. If this is the case, then restoring the programs to its formal level will not turn their head around. Even if these companies are not suffering any economic problems, they could have decided to cancel the cooperation with the television station for many other reasons. For example, they could have found another television station that fits their needs better, or they have noticed that online advertising is way much beneficial an efficient than pouring money into television advertising. The author must convince us with unbiased and credible evidence indicating that neither these businesses are not short of budget, nor their positions are not swayed by other factors.

Finally, even the author can address the foregoing questions with new evidence, he cannot guarantee that restoring to what the programs used to be can attract the new audience or its former audience back, neither can he promise to the business companies that they will suffer no economic loss. Today, people are more inclined to watch videos online, through streaming media like Netflix. The television decided to make a change might just because they had realized that, and they wanted to avoid competition with websites like Netflix. After all, if everything went on well, why should people make a change?

To sum up, while the claims sound convincing, they fail to convince people for that they are not substantiated with sufficient evidence and thus become not sound when facing some important questions.