A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

While it is true that respecting students' own interests is one of the most important things teachers should learn from their very first lesson, to be honest, requiring all secondary schools to have their own distinctive teaching curriculum is impossible. What the issue proposes is not feasible, for that it requires extra budget and an equal distribution of education resources.

It is a wise move to set the same national curriculum in secondary schools. What people should be conscious of is that, other than curriculum, schools have a lot more to worry about. There could be way more old facilities waiting to be improved, old building need replenishing, and periodically, these schools have to hire new teachers, who either graduate from top universities or already has rich experience, to rejuvenate the campus and to improve the teaching quality. All these things require the funding support. Under such circumstances, the money that can be allocated to the curriculum set is limited, which is also reasonable. It might work in some rich foreign language school that advanced facilities, furnished buildings, talented teacher and colorful after-school activities exist compatibly, but what is the point if students in poor schools are optional to register in Latin and Art History but have to sit in a classroom with broken windows? In such case, requiring students to study the same national curriculum is because that t桃those officers in education department like to suffocate the creativity of secondary school students, but that the other choice is just not reasonable.

This issue also brings about a question concerning the distribution of talented people. As I believe, one of the important reasons why the nation should ask schools to provide the same curriculum is that, in most schools, as I have mentioned in the last paragraph, are not able to provide students with top teachers. Consequently, when all secondary schools are free and encouraged to have their own curriculum, poor schools fail to satisfy their students' needs, while those schools in developed cities would enjoy the rich resources. This could pose a serious social problem, enlarging the inequity of education. When these students confront each other in a national exam, it is obvious that students poorly taught would get fewer chance to get into good colleges.

To sum up, what the issue claims is, by all means, reasonable and feasible, despite the fact that it might be accused of lacking imagination and creativity. But in today's society, in which the discrepancy between the rich and the poor is enlarging, "liberal art for all" is just a fancy.