Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The fundamental duty of teachers is to impart knowledge to their students in the best possible fashion. The theory that teachers' salaries should be based solely on the academic performance of their students is more harmful than it is productive as it calls for a comparison of two different unrelated parameters. I do not concur with the afformentioned statement because of the statements mentioned below.

The central assumption of this argument is that students’ performance would improve if teachers salaries depend on how well their students perfom academically. However, this claim is flawed because other factors which are responsible for the success of a student, the efforts taken by the student, the availability of study material, the environment at their home and so on. Not every student in a classroom has the intelligence and maturity required to stay on the top. A student might be more inclined towards sports or arts than he is in academics. This in tern, becomes unfair towards the teachers as every student cannot do well academically.

Moreover, teachers might encourage students to use unfair means to achieve a high academic performance. In the end, society loses. Students do not learn what they are supposed to and schools send half baked goods into the world. The scandals which have resulted from standardized testing also show why this position is flawed. There have been stories about schools helping students cheat.

Furthermore, this system is unfair to the teachers. There is a clear disparity in the intelligence of seniors and toddlers. If only academics is taken as a measure for paying the teachers, it will create an outrage between the teachers. There is a possibility that a teacher with a PhD is paid less that a teacher who is just a graduate. The efforts taken by an individual to reach to a higher position is disregarded and his efforts are made meaningless. It is also unfair to teachers teaching different subjects. For example, in a country where English is not the first language, the students will suffer in their earlier years and in turn, the teachers will suffer as well. A possible solution for this is there should be a fixed salary and a variable pay based on how well the students perform not only academically but as well as in extra-curricular activities.

In conclusion, though the premise of this position is sound, such a position is detrimental because teachers are not solely responsible for academic performance, students may sabotage teacher and this would also discourage teachers from pursuing the true goals of education.