Environmental protection policies should not be applicable to corporations, which generate significant financial and economic growth, even if such growth may have a negative impact on the environment.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In

developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Before the age of the Internet, the environment fulfilled the most basic needs of all living beings. Any nation uses its environmental resources to further its progress and also to provide for basic needs of its inhabitants like food, water and shelter. Environmental exploitation, if left unchecked can have disastrous consequences which can potentially lead to global extinction. I personally believe that environmental protection policies are paramount to the health and safety of the inhabitants of a nation as well as to the economic growth of the nation.

The environment is the most important asset any country can have. It provides humans with oxygen, food, water and various other resources. These are basic necessities of mankind, without which mankind cannot survive. During medieval times, the attacking armies, while sieging a city or a fort, usually blocked the defenders' access to drinking water and food. This means that even if the siege is not going as well as expected, due to food and water shortage, the defending armies would have to cede their city.

Since the Industrial Revolution, humans have been exploiting the environment at a rapid pace. The birth of machines gave rise to pollution. The birth of machines also increased the pace with which we were mining resources. As the existing mines dried up, the search for new ones begun. Wars were being fought for access to these new resources leading to undue loss of human life.

Because of this exploitation, we are facing numerous challenges right now. Global Warming is increasing the temperature of the Earth. Scientists theorize that if Global Warming is not halted, the effects could be irreversible in the next 50 years. Improper handling of toxic wastes has led to poisoning of various areas across the globe. Rampant pollution is leading to bad air quality and increase in respiratory problems. The pollution is also leading to the loss of the ozone layer which protects us from harmful radiation from space and the loss is leading to higher rate of cancer.

The consequences if environmental protection policies are not made applicable to everyone are catastrophic. Because of the rising temperature, coastal cities could submerge under water because of melting of glaciers. The complete loss of ozone layer will lead to extinction. But in some rare cases, depending on whether a corporation is making compensations to the environmental damage it caused, it can be given some leeway on these policies. The compensation must not be monetary, but it must be towards the environment.

In conclusion it can be said that no matter the economic growth, a clean environment is of more importance and collaborative efforts should be taken to curb the harmful effects of neglecting the environment. The implementation of environmental protection policies should be applicable evenly everywhere.