The following appeared in a memorandum written by the chairperson of the West Egg Town Council.

"Two years ago, consultants predicted that West Egg's landfill, which is used for garbage disposal, would be completely filled within five years. During the past two years, however, the town's residents have been recycling twice as much material as they did in previous years. Next month the amount of recycled material—which includes paper, plastic, and metal—should further increase, since charges for pickup of other household garbage will double. Furthermore, over 90 percent of the respondents to a recent survey said that they would do more recycling in the future. Because of our town's strong commitment to recycling, the available space in our landfill should last for considerably longer than predicted."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

At first glance, the author's argument appears to be convincing, but further scrutiny reveals that a lot of conclusions have been formed without concrete evidence which substantiates the given claims. In order to evaluate the argument, we need to analyze the text and look for additional proof.

The argument states that consultants believe the landfill of West Egg town will be filled up in five years because of increased recycling. It is said that people are recycling twice the amount of garbage which includes paper, plastic and metal. There is no mention of the ratio of these items to the rest of the items like wet garbage. Unless numerical data is provided, the effect of increased rate of recycling on the amount of garbage generated is unknown.

Secondly, the data about recycling two years prior to the current day is unavailable. We dont know if people were recycling 1% percent of their garbage or 10%. In the former part of the previous statement, the increase in recycling is negligible but in the latter case, it is humongous. We need more information to accurately evaluate the effects of recycling.

Thirdly, the data about the number of residents who took the survey is unknown. If only 10 people are surveyed, the legitimacy of the argument is weakened. The accuracy of the survey must also be questioned here. We have no knowledge about the questions asked in the survey. Unless the validity and accuracy of the survey is provided, this piece of information becomes irrelevant.

Furthermore, information about other factors like increase in population or an increase in industrial hubs which will lead to a proportionate increase in the garbage generated is not given. These factures, in conjunction with recycling will decide when the landfill will be filled.

The argument consists of weak ideas, mixed issues and equivocal claims due to the flaws mentioned above in the line of reasoning. There is a possibility that the landfill may take a long time to be filled up, but the reasoning given is rife with flaws and inaccuracies. Therefore, it is extremely important to find the evidences that support the claims of the author. And only after finding the evidences, the following topic can be strengthened.