Claim : The importance of multidisciplinary education is overrated in today's times.

Reason : Education should be focused on preparation for a specific career path and thus students should be encouraged to only pursue a single area of study.

Education plays a crucial role in determining the course of every individual's life. It can pave the way for success and help us reach our intended goals. It must be noted that every individual has a unique set of skills and likings. It is therefore essential for any education system to allow a student to identify these skillsets and pursue a career accordingly. I personally feel that labelling multidisciplinary education as "overrated" is wrong because it gives an individual a chance to identify his liking and inclination and enables him to choose how he wishes to make a living.

The reason stated for the claim, which stresses on the fact that students should be encouraged to only pursue a single area of study, maybe right. However, this does not make multidisciplinary education overrated. One must realise, pursuing a particular career is a students choice. However, having a fair understanding of how professions, other than the one he chooses to pursue, work, can be advantageous. The Indian government, in its recent change in education policy, made teaching subjects like carpentry, basic electronics, and programming mandatory in schools. Surely, a particular child will not pursue all these professions simultaneously. However, the fundamental skillsets that he learns during such an education are key for surviving in today's world.

The University of Pune, a prestigious academic institution in India, has made it mandatory for all students pursuing degrees in engineering to learn about various domains of engineering. Each student spends a year studying the roles of various engineers, irrespective of his or her specialization. Engineers are crucial for the day to day working of the world as we know it, and learning about the various branches of engineering makes the student realise how he fits into this big picture. He may choose to focus on a specific specialization but without understanding the cooperative nature of the job, acheiving maximum out of any job can be difficult. A multi-disciplinary education allows for such an exposure.

I, therefore, feel every individual should be exposed to various fields of study during his education